Searching for Critic

Home Forums School of Photography Forum Searching for Critic

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of Am Am 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Nic
    Participant

I’m sampling some photos from various series and works in order to reel in any feedback or constructive criticism. Any sort of constructive response would be VERY much so appreciated, after all I’m here to progress, just please refrain from coming off as rude, snobby, etc. I’m an AMATEUR and I’m SELF-TAUGHT, so please keep that in mind. Any usage of the following images without my permission would hurt my feelings greatly, so please don’t do that either. I work hard at what I do, even if I only produce photos of mediocre caliber.

First photo:
    This photo is part of my series “Dangers of Leather Jackets and Cigarettes.” I intentionally wanted to make the photo a bit dark with just a smidgen of light casting down from the sun in order to give the girl in the photo more of an “edgy” and/or “interesting” look of sorts. I was going for that Joan Jett, Sid Vicious, Ramones, 80′s biker/rocker-grunge appeal with a touch of melancholy from The Smiths.

Second photo:
    This photo is part of my series “Autumn.” My intention was to give a ghostly or dreamy effect so I played along with the girl’s appearance to give her a mother nature/Semara from the Ring meets hippie chick look, and during post processing I wanted to pastel and mattify the photo to go even further with the ethereal/dreamy/ghostly glow of an appearance that I mentioned. She is the ghost of Autumn’s past, she feels neither joy nor sorrow, does she even truly exist or is she just a washed out, unseen speckle of a fantasy like Jack Frost?

Third photo: